The Combination to Unlock the Vault of My Heart

February 1, 2008 § 3 Comments

So between books is the time when I engage in that futile attempt to catch up with the magazines we subscribe to. (We only get 4 or so; somehow I am always behind by 4-6 months. I have no idea how I do this.) Reading Nick Hornby’s column in a Believer from a few months ago, I came across this: a novel, in blank verse, about werewolves in Los Angeles. And one of the epigrams, sez (probably-compensated-or-even-employed-by-the-book’s-publisher) Amazon reviewer Alexander Chow-Stuart, comes from Warren Zevon’s “Werewolves of London”–a song (and singer) I unabashedly, unironically, unequivocally adore. Apparently this book was, serendipitously, just released in the US. I must have it. Oh yes, I must have it.

So now you know: outlandish formal experiment + classic horror film plot elements + Warren Zevon-inspired author=the combination to unlock the vault of my heart. Use this knowledge only for the good of mankind, please.

Tagged: , ,

§ 3 Responses to The Combination to Unlock the Vault of My Heart

  • Paticus says:

    Have you read the book that Warren’s ex-wife wrote about him at his request ?
    “My Dirty Life & Times” I think it’s called. Fascinating read.

  • willhansen2 says:

    I haven’t–I’m scared to. I prefer this pseudo-legendary image I have of WZ; there seem to be all these crazy Bill Brasky-esque stories out there about him. I couldn’t stand to read about what an a-hole he really (probably) was. Maybe I’ve got the wrong impression here.

  • Paticus says:

    I wouldn’t say you have the wrong impression. He was a “complicated” fellow, to say the least. It’s not always a comfortable read, I must say.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Combination to Unlock the Vault of My Heart at The Ambiguities.

meta

